Our Company

About Us

The Indiana Minority Health Coalition, Inc. (IMHC) is a statewide non-profit organization. It is also an Indiana certified Minority Business Enterprise (MBE).

IMHC exists to eliminate health disparities through research, education, advocacy, and access to health care services for minority populations.

Responsive image

Brief History

In 1992, local minority health coalitions, with the assistance of the Indiana Black Legislative Caucus, met and developed the first 5-year Minority Health Strategic Plan for Indiana. The local coalitions subsequently created IMHC as a means to facilitate the adoption of the strategic plan as it passed through the legislative process.

The general consensus among the leadership was that the Minority Health Initiative needed one statewide entity that could serve as a focal point and a unified voice for the local coalitions' concerns.Thus, IMHC was legally incorporated in 1994.


“To enhance the quality of life through education, advocacy, and qualityhealth care services for racial/ethnic minorities. To conduct research and training, develop policy,and create and maintain a broad-based network of affiliate agencies.”

Our Staff

Administrative Department

President & CEO

Carl Ellison

Executive Assistant

Shanta Harris

VP & Chief Operating Officer

Human Resources Director

Eva Hillman

Programs Department

Minority Health Field Consultant

Minority Health Field Consultant

Minority Health Field Consultant

Michael Russell

Research Department

Director of Research

Anita Ohmit, MPH

Research Associate

Chandana Saha, PhD, MPH

Research Assistant

Rosana De Jesus, LND

Data Analyst

Siqi Dai, MPH

Finance Department

Chief Financial Officer

Evelyn R. Jones, MAcc, CPA Candidate

Finance Director

Feras Nassar


LaRon Henry

Multicultural Programs & Initiative

VP of Planning & Program Development

Director of Public Policy and Engagement

Tony Gillespie

Technology Department

Risk Management

Evelyn R. Jones, MAcc, CPA Candidate

Our Board



Arvis Dawson

Vice Chair

Barb McLin


Dr. Sharron Liggins


David Swarn

AT-Large Members

Al Bracken

Clara Walton

Jarnell Burks-Craig

J. Guadalupe Valtierra, Chancellor

Karen Holly

Tony Kirkland

Virgil Madden

William Crawford

Coalition Presidents

Alice Weathers

Arvis Dawson

Clarence Brown

Diana Carole Hart

Elijah Thomas

Joanne Camarillo

Johnnie Washington, MSW

Kevin Woodgett

Michelle Satterfield

Tyronne Armstead